Many schools - one book 2020

An exhibition as part of the ZfL project "Many schools, one book" about the epistolary novel "Wo die Freiheit wächst

18.09. - 29.10.2020

At the Center for Teacher Training (ZfL), 20 students from Cologne, Darmstadt and Lahr have studied the epistolary novel "Wo die Freiheit wächst"  by Frank Maria Reifenberg.

Once a year, the Center for Teacher Education invites students in grades seven to eleven to the project days "Many schools, one book". This year in March, shortly before the lockdown, they also had the opportunity to deal intensively with a current novel in writing, illustration and theater workshops. The project days "Many schools, one book" are carried out within the framework of the project LESEPUNKTE and are financially supported by the Imhoff Foundation, the RheinEnergieStiftung Kultur and the University and City Library.

Reifenberg lives and works in Cologne. The trained bookseller, copywriter and screenwriter has already written for Sesame Street and since 2003 has written his own books for children and young people at various publishing houses. Since 2008, he has been dedicated to promoting boys' reading with workshops for boys as well as seminars and lectures for educators, parents, teachers and multipliers in the book and education industry. His epistolary novel "Wo die Freiheit wächst" is about the youth resistance movement of the 'Edelweiss Pirates'. The letters from and to Lene Meister from Cologne are based on extensive research by Reifenberg and give an insight into the year 1942. Lene does not want to submit to the synchronized pace of the Nazi regime - and when she falls in love with the 'edelweiss pirate' Erich, she too falls into the sights of the secret state police. In the workshops, the students dealt with the topics of freedom, courage and friendship.

LESEPUNKTE is an online review journal in which students review books under the guidance of teachers. It was founded in 2006 by the Chair of Early Modern History at the University of Cologne and the Chair of Middle and Modern Art History at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) Munich. Since 2015, the Center for Teacher Education at the University of Cologne has been responsible for the project.

 

Contact

Dr. Gesine Boesken
Centre for Teacher Education
Coordinator Faculty of Philosophy/Deputy Head of Practical Phases
Tel. +49 221 470 3404, E-Mail: gesine.boesken@uni-koeln.de

 

 

 

Exhibition location

University and City Library of Cologne, showcase in front of the cafeteria, Universitätsstraße 33, 50931 Köln
Currently open from Monday to Friday from 9 to 18

This year, the exhibition is also available in digital form for the first time: https://bit.ly/2POlIr4 (from October 1, 2020). Like last year, however, the exhibits can be seen in an exhibition in the USB. There, the results of the students* can be viewed.

Viele Schulen - ein Buch 2020

Eine Ausstellung im Rahmen des ZfL-Projekts "Viele Schulen, ein Buch" über den Briefroman "Wo die Freiheit wächst"

17.09. - 29.10.2020

20 Schülerinnen und Schüler aus Köln, Darmstadt und Lahr haben sich am Zentrum für LehrerInnenbildung (ZfL) mit dem Briefroman "Wo die Freiheit wächst" von Frank Maria Reifenberg auseinandergesetzt.

Das Zentrum für Lehrer*innenbildung lädt einmal im Jahr Schüler*innen der Jahrgangsstufen sieben bis elf zu den Projekttagen "Viele Schulen, ein Buch" ein. So erhielten sie auch dieses Jahr im März, kurz vor dem Lockdown, die Gelegenheit, sich in Schreib-, Illustrations- und Theater-Workshops intensiv mit einem aktuellen Roman auseinanderzusetzen. Die Projekttage werden im Rahmen des Projekts LESEPUNKTE durchgeführt und von der Imhoff-Stiftung, der RheinEnergieStiftung Kultur und der Universitäts- und Stadtbibliothek Köln finanziell unterstützt.

Reifenberg lebt und wirkt in Köln. Der gelernte Buchhändler, Texter, Drehbuchautor hat bereits für die Sesamstraße geschrieben und seit 2003 schreibt er seine eigenen Kinder- und Jugendbücher bei verschiedenen Verlagen. Seit 2008 widmet er sich der Jungenleseförderung mit Workshops für Jungen sowie Seminaren und Vorträgen für Erzieher*innen, Eltern, Lehrer*innen und Multiplikator*innen in der Buch- und Bildungsbranche. Sein Briefroman „Wo die Freiheit wächst“ handelt von der jugendlichen Widerstandsbewegung der ‚Edelweißpiraten’. Die Briefe von und an Lene Meister aus Köln basieren auf umfangreichen Recherchen von Reifenberg und geben einen Einblick in das Jahr 1942. Lene möchte sich dem Gleichschritt des NS-Regimes nicht unterwerfen und als sie sich in den ‚Edelweißpiraten’ Erich verliebt, gerät auch sie in das Visier der Geheimen Staatspolizei. In den Workshops setzten sich die Schüler*innen mit den Themen Freiheit, Mut und Freundschaft auseinander.

LESEPUNKTE ist ein Online-Rezensionsjournal, in dem Schüler*innen unter Anleitung von Lehrkräften Bücher rezensieren. Es wurde 2006 vom Lehrstuhl für Geschichte der Frühen Neuzeit der Universität zu Köln sowie dem Lehrstuhl für Mittlere und Neuere Kunstgeschichte der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München gegründet. Seit 2015 verantwortet das Zentrum für Lehrer*innenbildung der Universität zu Köln das Projekt.

Ausstellung digital

 

Kontakt

Dr. Gesine Boesken
Zentrum für LehrerInnenbildung
Stellv. Geschäftsführerin / Projektleitung LESEPUNKTE
Tel. +49 221 470 3404, E-Mail: gesine.boesken@uni-koeln.de

 

Ausstellungsort

Universitäts- und Stadtbibliothek Köln, Vitrine vor der Cafeteria, Universitätsstraße 33, 50931 Köln
Zurzeit geöffnet von montags bis freitags von 9 bis 18 Uhr