Concrete:Imagination
The aesthetics of brutalism

We show architectural photographs by Gregor Zoyzoyla from February 7 to April 30, 2020 in the foyer of our brutalist library building at Universitätsstr. 33 in Cologne. You are cordially invited!
Extended until 25/09/2020

About the exhibition

Under the direction of the Stuttgart architect Rolf Gutbrod, the building for the University and City Library of Cologne was completed in 1966: with a usage area, an administrative wing and probably the most famous component, the honeycomb-clad magazine cube, it stood for the avant-garde at the time.

It is not only in Cologne, with the university library, the Church of St. John XXIII in Cologne-Sülz or the Cologne University of Music and Dance, that important buildings of Brutalism can be discovered. They are spread all over the globe and polarize like hardly any other architectural style of post-war modernism. The Frankfurt photographer Gregor Zoyzoyla travels to those concrete buildings in Belgrade, London, Marseille or Cologne and, with the assiduousness of a believer, documents the raw beauty of their staircases, facades and brutalist details. His pictures of sacred buildings and public institutions convey the search for a radical new beginning in society, which still surrounds brutalism as an aura today.

Some of Gregor Zoyzoyla's pictures can be seen simultaneously in the German Architecture Museum on the occasion of Gottfried Böhm's 100th birthday and he will also dedicate a photo showcase to Böhm in our exhibition.

About the artist

Already during his studies of geography Gregor Zoyzoyla developed a great interest in exploring urban spaces and capturing their function, aesthetics and meaning for the inhabitants of the city in photographs. He is particularly fascinated by the tension between the original visions of the planners of that time and the later evaluation by users. Over time, Zoyzoyla's image details and scenes shifted from larger sections to more and more detail, and thus architecture moved into his focus. He was particularly fond of the buildings of Brutalism.

Gregor Zoyzoyla has already exhibited his paintings in the German Architecture Museum in Frankfurt, the Barbican Centre London, the Breidenbach Studios Heidelberg and in many small, self-organised exhibitions. He is also involved in many small projects. For example, in cooperation with the Association for the Protection of Monuments and Landscape, he organized a photography tour with the art achievement course of the Europagymnasium Wörth to explore and appreciate his own school building - naturally in the style of Brutalism. This commitment has contributed to the fact that the school building is now listed as a historical monument.

www.gregorzoyzoyla.com
www.instagram.com/gregorzoyzoyla

www.facebook.com/gregoraufderflucht
Gregor Zoyzoyla bei der Sendung "titel thesen temperamente"

Invitation to the vernissage

Friday, 7 February 2020, 18 o'clock, free admission!

  • Welcome | Dr. Hubertus Neuhausen, Director of the University and City Library of Cologne
  • Welcome | Gregor Zoyzoyla, Photographer and city planner
  • Short presentation | Felix Torkar, architectural historian | „Memorability as an Image“: Brutalism and its vividness
  • Short presentation | Tobias Flessenkemper, Rheinischer Verein für Denkmalpflege und Landschaftsschutz | Midcentury, Brutalism & Postmodernism: A future for our architectural past

See also the corresponding Facebook event of the exhibiting artist Gregor Zoyzoyla

Location

Foyer of the University and City Library of Cologne, Universitätsstraße 33, 50931 Köln

Opening hours

Concrete:Imagination - The aesthetics of brutalism
from 7 February to 30 April 2020 (extended until 25/09/2020)

Monday to Friday from 9 to 24
Saturday and Sunday from 9 to 21

Important note

If you do not have a library card or UCCard, please contact the staff and indicate that you wish to visit the exhibition. You will then pass through the entrance barrier free of charge.

1 / 3

Concrete:Imagination
Die Ästhetik des Brutalismus

Wir zeigen Architekturfotografien von Gregor Zoyzoyla vom 7. Februar bis 30. April 2020 im Foyer unseres brutalistischen Bibliotheksgebäudes in der Universitätsstr. 33 in Köln. Sie sind herzlich eingeladen!

07.02. - 30.04.2020

Bild in Originalgröße anzeigen:

Royal National Theatre in London, Architekt Denys Lasdun, Bauzeit 1967-76. (c) Gregor Zoyzoyla

Über die Ausstellung

Unter Leitung des Stuttgarter Architekten Rolf Gutbrod wurde 1966 der Bau für die Universitäts- und Stadtbibliothek Köln fertiggestellt: mit einem Benutzungsbereich, einem Verwaltungstrakt und dem wohl bekanntesten Bauteil, dem wabenverkleideten Magazinkubus, stand er seinerzeit für die Avantgarde.

Nicht nur in Köln gibt es mit der Uni-Bibliothek , der Kirche Hl. Johannes XXIII. in Köln-Sülz oder der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln bedeutende Bauwerke des Brutalismus zu entdecken, sie sind auf dem ganzen Globus verteilt und polarisieren wie kaum ein anderer Architekturstil der Nachkriegsmoderne. Der Frankfurter Fotograf Gregor Zoyzoyla reist zu jenen Betonbauten nach Belgrad, London, Marseille oder Köln und dokumentiert mit der Geflissenheit eines Gläubigen die rohe Schönheit ihrer Treppenhäuser, Fassaden und brutalistischen Details. Seine Bilder aus Sakralbauten und öffentlichen Einrichtungen transportieren die Suche nach einem radikalen gesellschaftlichen Neuanfang, die den Brutalismus bis heute als Aura umgibt.

Einige von Gregor Zoyzoylas Bildern sind zeitgleich im Deutschen Architekturmuseum zum 100. Geburtstag Gottfried Böhms zu sehen und er wird Böhm auch in unserer Ausstellung eine Fotovitrine widmen.

Über den Künstler

Schon während seines Studiums der Geografie entwickelte Gregor Zoyzoyla ein großes Interesse, urbane Räume zu erkunden und deren Funktion, Ästhetik und Bedeutung für die Bewohner*innen der Stadt auch fotografisch festzuhalten. Besonders fasziniert ihn hier das Spannungsfeld zwischen den Ursprungsvisionen der Planer von damals und der späteren Bewertung durch Nutzer*innen. Von größeren Ausschnitten verlagerten sich Zoyzoylas Bildausschnitte und Szenen mit der Zeit mehr und mehr ins Detail und so rückte die Architektur in seinen Fokus. Dabei haben es ihm die Bauwerke des Brutalismus besonders angetan.

Gregor Zoyzoyla stellte seine Bilder bereits im Deutschen Architekturmuseum Frankfurt, im Barbican Centre London, in den Breidenbach Studios Heidelberg sowie in vielen kleinen, selbstorganisierten Ausstellungen aus. Daneben ist er in viele kleine Projekte involviert. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verein für Denkmalschutz und Landschaftspflege organisierte er zum Beispiel mit dem Kunst-Leistungskurs des Europagymnasiums Wörth eine Fotografie-Tour zur Erkundung und Wertschätzung des eigenen Schulgebäudes – natürlich im Stil des Brutalismus. Dieses Engagement hat dazu beigetragen, dass das Schulgebäude nun unter Denkmalschutz gestellt wird.

www.gregorzoyzoyla.com
www.instagram.com/gregorzoyzoyla

www.facebook.com/gregoraufderflucht
Gregor Zoyzoyla bei der Sendung "titel thesen temperamente"


Einladung zur Vernissage

Freitag, 7. Februar 2020, 18 Uhr, Eintritt frei!

  • Begrüßung | Dr. Hubertus Neuhausen, Leiter der Universitäts- und Stadtbibliothek
  • Begrüßung | Gregor Zoyzoyla, Fotograf und Stadtplaner
  • Kurzvortrag | Felix Torkar, Architekturhistoriker | „Memorability as an Image“: Brutalismus und seine Bildhaftigkeit
  • Kurzvortrag | Tobias Flessenkemper, Rheinischer Verein für Denkmalpflege und Landschaftsschutz | Midcentury, Brutalismus & Postmoderne: Eine Zukunft für unsere architektonische Vergangenheit

Sehen Sie auch das dazugehörige Facebook-Event des ausstellenden Künstlers Gregor Zoyzoyla

Veranstaltungsort

Universitäts- und Stadtbibliothek Köln, Foyer, Universitätsstraße 33, 50931 Köln

Öffnungszeiten

Concrete:Imagination - Die Ästhetik des Brutalismus
vom 7. Februar bis 30. April 2020

Montag bis Freitag von 9 bis 24 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag von 9 bis 21 Uhr

Wichtiger Hinweis

Sollten Sie keinen Bibliotheksausweis oder keine UCCard besitzen, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Personal und geben Sie an, dass Sie die Ausstellung besuchen möchten. Sie gelangen dann kostenfrei durch die Einlassschranke.

1 / 3